Who Directs Seminars and Tutorials?

Thinking Matters Fellows

Fellows who lead Thinking Matters sections and tutorials are recruited from a national search for up to a three-year term.  They are chosen because of their familiarity with the problems and topics of the courses as well as experience and expertise in working with first year students.  The regular and close contact with students significantly enhances frosh learning, particularly in the crucial areas of critical inquiry, analysis, reading and writing. 

People

Marie Elizabeth Burks

meburks@stanford.edu
Marie Burks is a Thinking Matters Fellow at Stanford University. She received her PhD in History, Anthropology, and Science, Technology, and Society...

Read More

Justin Leonard Clardy

clardyj@stanford.edu
My Ph.D. is in Philosophy with specializations in Ethics and Social & Political Philosophy from the University of Arkansas. Currently, my...

Read More

Risa Cromer

rcromer@stanford.edu
Risa Cromer is as a postdoctoral fellow at Stanford University in the Thinking Matters program and Stanford Center for Biomedical Ethics. She...

Read More

Tara Dosumu Diener

tddiener@stanford.edu
Tara received a Ph.D. in Anthropology and History from the University of Michigan in 2016 and a Graduate Certificate in Science, Technology, and...

Read More

Kyle Fruh


Kyle earned his PhD from Georgetown University, having completed an MA at the University of Colorado, Boulder, and a BA at Amherst College. Prior to...

Read More

Nicole Gounalis

gounalis@stanford.edu
Nicole serves as a Thinking Matters Fellow. She received her Ph.D. in Italian, with a Ph.D. minor in Slavic Languages and Literatures, from Stanford...

Read More

Sean Russell Hallowell


A musician and composer, Sean Russell Hallowell received his Ph.D. from Columbia University in 2013, where he wrote a dissertation on the aesthetico-...

Read More

Kristyn Nicole Mahealani Hara

krishara@stanford.edu
Kristyn Hara is a Thinking Matters Fellow at Stanford University and currently teaches in the “Living with Viruses,” “The Cause is Uncertain,” and “...

Read More

Sarah Hillenbrand

shillenb@stanford.edu
Sarah Hillenbrand is a Lecturer in the Thinking Matters Program. She received her B.A. in Neuroscience, Philosophy, and Spanish Area Studies from...

Read More

Melissa Ko


Melissa Ko earned an S.B. in biology from MIT and a PhD in cancer biology from Stanford University. Her research aims to develop novel computational...

Read More

Katherine Lennard

klennard@stanford.edu
Katherine Lennard is a cultural historian working to understand how objects and images shaped the ways that Americans understood race, gender, and...

Read More

Minh Vy Ly


 

 

 

 


Read More

Nicole Noelle Martin

nnmartin@stanford.edu
Nicole Martin is a social and cultural historian interested in how Americans have framed, understood, and reconciled questions about belonging and...

Read More

Tiffany Naiman

tnaiman@stanford.edu
Tiffany received her PhD in Musicology from the University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) in 2017. She also holds master's degrees in African...

Read More

Lexi Neame

neame@stanford.edu
Lexi Neame is a political theorist and science and technology studies scholar. Her research and teaching interests are in the history of political...

Read More

Joey Nelson


Joey Nelson is a Teaching and Research Fellow in Thinking Matters, Stanford Introductory Studies. He holds a BS in Environmental Sciences and a BA in...

Read More

Kirsten Paige

kpaige@stanford.edu
Kirsten Paige is a postdoctoral fellow in the "Thinking Matters" Program at Stanford University, having previously served as a Lecturer in Music...

Read More

Emily Katherine Rials

ekrials@stanford.edu
Emily Rials is a Lecturer in the Thinking Matters program. She received her Ph.D. in English Literature from Cornell University; her ongoing research...

Read More

Lupita Ruiz-Jones

gjrj@stanford.edu
Lupita Ruiz-Jones is a teaching and research fellow. She teaches critical thinking in the sciences to freshman in the Thinking Matters program. She...

Read More

Saumya Sankaran


Saumya received her B.S./M.S. combined degree in biology from Brandeis University (2009) and her PhD in cell and molecular biology from Stanford...

Read More

Tim Sorg

timsorg@stanford.edu
Tim is a Lecturer in the Thinking Matters program, where he will be teaching THINK51: The Spirit of Democracy, THINK54: 100,000 Years of War, and...

Read More

Elise Stickles

stickles@stanford.edu
Elise Stickles is a postdoctoral lecturer in the Thinking Matters program at Stanford. For the 2016-2017 year she will be teaching in the Breaking...

Read More

Chenshu Zhou

czhou001@stanford.edu
Chenshu Zhou is a postdoctoral teaching fellow in the Thinking Matters program. She received her PhD in Chinese from Stanford in 2016. Prior to that...

Read More