Contact Us

Hume Center for Writing and Speaking

Building 250, Lasuen Mall

Telephone: 650-723-0045
Fax: 650-724-3487

Email: speakinghelp@stanford.edu

Email: writingcenter@stanford.edu

Tutoring Hours in the Hume Center for Writing and Speaking

Academic Year: Fall to Spring Term

Monday: 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday: 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday: 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
Thursday: 10:00 a.m. to  8:00 p.m.
Friday: 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Sunday: 1:00 p.m to 10:00 p.m.

Please check tutor availability on http://sututor.stanford.edu

Hume Center for Writing and Speaking Staff

Julia Bleakney, Ph.D., Director, bleakney@stanford.edu, (650) 736-2951. Office: Room 210.      

Pamela Nelson Foster, Administrative Manager, pamela.nelson@stanford.edu, Office: Room 109.

Sarah Pittock, Ph.D. Associate Director (Writing), pittock@stanford.edu, (650) 735-2954. Office: Room 207.

Vania Sciolini, Administrative Coordinator, vsvania@stanford.edu, (650) 724-9693. Office: Room 110.

Lindsey Yeager, Oral Communication Specialist and OCT Manager, lindsey.yeager@stanford.edu, (650) 725-7667. Office: Room 109.

Affiliiated Staff

Program in Oral Communication

Doree Allen, Ph.D., Oral Communication Program Director, doree.allen@stanford.edu, (650) 725-4149

Thomas Freeland, Ph.D., Program Lecturer, thomas@stanford.edu, (650) 736-2337

Program in Writing and Rhetoric

Nicholas Jenkins, Ph.D., Faculty Director, njenkins@stanford.edu

Marvin Diogenes, Co-Director, Stanford Introductory Studies, marvind@stanford.edu

Hume Center for Writing and Speaking Tutors

  • Experienced writers and professional teachers of writing as well as trained peer graduate and undergraduate tutors.
  • Highly-trained graduate and undergraduate Oral Communication Tutors (OCTs).

See our Tutor Bios

Appointments

Schedule an Appointment