Current Fellows

Thinking Matters Fellows

Fellows who lead Thinking Matters sections and tutorials are recruited from a national search for up to a three-year term.  They are chosen because of their familiarity with the problems and topics of the courses as well as experience and expertise in working with first year students.  The regular and close contact with students significantly enhances frosh learning, particularly in the crucial areas of critical inquiry, analysis, reading and writing. 

People

Marie Elizabeth Burks

meburks@stanford.edu
Marie Burks is a Thinking Matters Fellow at Stanford University. She received her PhD in History, Anthropology, and Science, Technology, and Society... Read More

Justin Leonard Clardy

clardyj@stanford.edu
My Ph.D. is in Philosophy with specializations in Ethics and Social & Political Philosophy from the University of Arkansas. Currently, my... Read More

Collin Closek

closek@stanford.edu
I am an Early Career Science Fellow at the Stanford Center for Ocean Solutions and a Teaching Fellow in the Thinking Matters Program in the Office of... Read More

Huw Duffy

hduffy@stanford.edu
Huw is a postdoctoral fellow in the Thinking Matters program. He completed his PhD in Philosophy at Stanford in 2018, having received a BA in... Read More

Nicole Mara Gounalis

gounalis@stanford.edu
Nicole serves as a Thinking Matters Fellow. She received her Ph.D. in Italian, with a Ph.D. minor in Slavic Languages and Literatures, from Stanford... Read More

Sean Russell Hallowell


A musician and composer, Sean Russell Hallowell received his Ph.D. from Columbia University in 2013, where he wrote a dissertation on the aesthetico-... Read More

Kristyn Nicole Mahealani Hara

krishara@stanford.edu
Kristyn Hara is a Thinking Matters Fellow at Stanford University and currently teaches in the “Living with Viruses,” “The Cause is Uncertain,” and “... Read More

Melissa Ko


Melissa Ko earned an S.B. in biology from MIT and a PhD in cancer biology from Stanford University. Her research aims to develop novel computational... Read More

Alison Grace Laurence

alaurenc@stanford.edu
Alison Laurence is a Lecturer in the Thinking Matters program. She received her PhD from MIT’s interdisciplinary program in History, Anthropology,... Read More

Katherine J Lennard

klennard@stanford.edu
Katherine Lennard is a cultural historian working to understand how objects and images shaped the ways that Americans understood race, gender, and... Read More

Minh Ly


 

 

 

 

Read More

Nicole Martin

nnmartin@stanford.edu
Nicole Martin is a social and cultural historian interested in how Americans have framed, understood, and reconciled questions about belonging and... Read More

Alexandra Catherine Neame

neame@stanford.edu
Lexi Neame is a political theorist and science and technology studies scholar. Her research and teaching interests are in the history of political... Read More

Joey Nelson

joey.nelson@stanford.edu
Joey Nelson is an Academic Advising Director at Stanford University. He advises students on academic planning, exploring interests, identifying goals... Read More

Kirsten Paige

kpaige@stanford.edu
I am currently a Postdoctoral Fellow and Lecturer at Stanford University. I previously taught at The San Francisco Conservatory of Music. I received... Read More

Adwait Parker


 

 

 

 

Read More

Emily Katherine Rials

ekrials@stanford.edu
Emily Rials is a Lecturer in the Thinking Matters program. She received her Ph.D. in English Literature from Cornell University; her ongoing research... Read More

Lupita Ruiz-Jones

gjrj@stanford.edu
Lupita Ruiz-Jones is a teaching and research fellow. She teaches critical thinking in the sciences to freshman in the Thinking Matters program. She... Read More

Timothy Sorg

timsorg@stanford.edu
Tim is a Lecturer in the Thinking Matters program. In academic year 2019-2020, he is on leave Fall quarter, then teaching THINK54: 100,000 Years of... Read More

Justin Tackett

tackett@stanford.edu
Justin Tackett received his PhD in English from Stanford University. He specializes in British and American literature of the long nineteenth century... Read More